The Killer Wore Leather

The Killer Wore Leather

The Killer Wore Leather

I use this blog for movie and television reviews, but I am making an exception here because a) I can, it’s my blog but more importantly b) this is a book that should become a movie.

Let me start by giving a touch of background on me and books.  I’ve been reading mystery novels since I was very, very young.  Yes, I started with the Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew, and graduated to Agatha Christi and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.  I read a lot of true crime novels as well, including the most recent, “First We’ll Kill My Husband” much to the chagrin of the Man.  I have watched a lot of mystery/thriller movies and television shows over the years.  I love a good mystery and can usually figure them out before the ending.  🙂

There are no spoilers in this review – I don’t like it when people do that to me, so I’m not going to do it to you!

This book is by a VERY good author, Laura Antoniou   She is an amazing writer and I have listened to her speak in educational classes and read almost every single one of her books.   Okay, maybe I am a bit biased when it comes to her, but believe me when I say that she is very much worth it.  She is a straight-from-the-hip kind of speaker, blunt and to the point.  If you get the chance to see her speak – TAKE IT.

On to the book itself – The Killer Wore Leather.  I could not put this book down!  Laura has a way of drawing you into the setting she has created and make you care about the characters within.  Yes, you will know almost immediately who the victim will be (if you haven’t read the synopsis) and I admit to figuring it out long before the detective, but I’ve gotten good at that over the years.

But it isn’t just the mystery that will captivate you (and it will).  It’s the side dramas of the characters.  It’s who will win the contest?  Will Bitsy find the “one”?   Will Dominick and Rebecca ever understand each other?  What the hell is going on with Ravenfyre, Master Dick (snerk) and Willow?  So many questions and such surprising answers can be found.

My favorite character in this book is oddly enough, Mickey.  Loved her and her attitude.  And I have a feeling she was modeled after someone I know and admire.  I think the Hawaiian shirts are a clue.  🙂

Now, this book does take place at a Leather/BDSM contest event.  Those of you who have no clue what that is about, it really won’t detract from the enjoyment of the book.  You may learn a few things or you may just wonder why anyone would want to be involved in that kind of thing.

For those of you who do know what that is about, it will only add to the entertainment and may give you some knowledge about these events that you didn’t know.  This may be a fictional book and event, but the way it’s run, managed, and problems that arise are more real than you know.

For those of you like me, who has more intimate knowledge of such events, you’ll find a lot of amusement in the story and will no doubt be picking out real life people who fit these characters.  I can’t tell you the number of times I laughed out loud while I was reading this and thinking, ‘gee, that sounds like <won’t name names>.’

The speech that phyl’ta ends up giving towards the end was amazing.  I have a feeling that more than a few people I know would say the same thing.  And the insight into the Zod books was hilarious!  Even if you don’t know the real life group that they are based on, it is still the funniest sub-drama in the book.

Laura Antoniou has done a wonderful job in weaving a story that is amusing, mysterious, exciting, and a facetious take on a community that needs to learn to laugh at itself.  I truly hope she will continue in this genre and revive the characters of Rebecca and Dominick in future novels.  (please, Laura?)

Rating:  5 of 5 stars

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

